Ask Avi- Peace Corps Nicaragua

Please note that the names/hometowns of the persons asking questions have been changed/modified in order to protect the innocent OR names/hometowns and questions have been made up entirely….you decide. Please send additional questions to me at avirich@gmail.com and will be sure to respond to you personally or include the question in the next edition of Ask Avi. I also want to let me dedicated readers know that I want to write about what you want to read about so please send me email, suggestions, and thoughts.

Joshua R. from Johnson City, TN: I can’t believe you are in Nicaragua! So you’re going to be there for how long again? And I know but just want to make sure everyone else knows…where exactly is Nicaragua?

Thanks for thinking of others, Josh. You sound like a sweet guy. I am going to be serving in Peace Corps Nicaragua for almost 27 months (May 2008-July 2010) and the first three months are considered in country training while the next two years I will be living in one particular site TBD in five more weeks! And Nicaragua is basically equidistant from North and South America in the middle of Central America. Here is a map.

Cliff from Norfolk, VA: What exactly is the Peace Corps….some sort of military branch?

Actually, I am unable to disclose that information or I would be forced to end your life in a discreet, swift manner and your family, friends, or the government would never know what happened to you or find your remains. Yes, I am that proficient. Outside of teaching some serious kung fu and espionage (if anyone in the Nicaraguan govt is reading this, I am honestly, seriously just joking!), Peace Corps is a NGO that is receives the majority of its funding from the US government. PC sends “volunteers” around the world to developing countries in order to provide technical assistance and encourage cultural exchange that will hopefully bring about more peace in the future. For more info, go to www.peacecorps.gov

Enrique Iglesias from Miami: What exactly are you going to be doing while in Nicaragua and can I sing you a song?

I am part of the small business program in Nicaragua and will be teaching a course called La Empresa Creativa (creative entrepreneurship class) to high school students and will be working with and advising micro and small businesses in their development. I will also be forming community banks, assisting youth groups to become leaders in community development, building capacity in local people, working in many secondary projects, and trying to start a youth basketball team. On top of all this, I will be sharing my culture and experiences with many Nicaraguans as I learn about their uniqueness. Basically, I’m kinda gonna be a big deal. People will know me. And, yes you can sing me a song, just not “Bailamos”.

Lonely Man in Alaska: Are you there by yourself or with a bunch of other people?

I am just one of 38 other people that comprise the group Nica 47, meaning that we are the 47th group to work for Peace Corps Nicaragua (I think since PC was reinstated here although it could be from the start). Originally there were 40 in Nica 47 but one never showed up in DC for training and another one left a week ago due to a serious illness in the family. Of the 38 remaining, 19 are in the small business program and 19 will be English teachers. The small business folks all live in training towns close to each other and we see each other at least every Wednesday and Friday for training/information sessions. I really enjoy all the people in my group and we will definitely be a great support system for each other and have A LOT of fun as time goes on.

Bobby from El Paso, Texas: What is Nicaragua like? I have never been out of the country. Is it really that different?

Yes, it really is that different. Not so different from Guatemala but different enough. Nicaragua is very poor, pretty hot, has a lot of lakes and volcanoes, and the people almost all speak Spanish. Most houses are constructed with adobe, tin roofs, and do not have insulation or most other amenities. Most people grow up in the same towns/cities that they die in and do not travel much within the country. Infrastructure is poor, lots of dirt roads, the country is about the size of New York with 7 million people, and lots of animals everywhere. I believe that the average number of children still stands at 5 (not entirely sure). I do know that the country is very underdeveloped and has a lot of opportunity to grow. In Nicaragua you can experience Mother Nature at her finest and go to some great beaches. And people do have cell phones, tv, there are internet cafes in most cities, cars, buses, there is a strong sense of community, and people seem pretty happy. The culture is also very, very different and extremely interesting but I will write more about that later as time goes on.

My siblings from Jacksonville: Wow…that sounds awesome…can I come to visit?

You definitely can but you will have to wait until at least October as by then I should be established in my site and most likely will have my own place. One can only live with a host family for so long. Just make sure you check the CDC website to see what shots are recommended before coming down as there are a few. I really do encourage anyone who is at all interested to come and visit me and Nicaragua. You will probably never have another chance to have a place to stay and a willing host and tour guide in the land of lakes and volcanoes. Just let me know in advance! Also check Spirit Airlines for good deals into Managua.

The Unabomber from a maximum security prison: How can I send you mail, like a birthday card, money, and other stuff from the States?

Easy enough Teddy. You can just mail it. My address is as follows:

Avi Richman, PCT
Voluntario del Cuerpo de Paz
Apartado Postal 3256
Managua, Nicaragua
Central America

This will be my address from now through at least Sept 1. After that I will most likely have a different address. Here are some other funny suggestions stolen from another Peace Corps blog that you can do to ensure that whatever you’re sending actually arrives:

– Write my name as “Father Avi Richman”. It’s a pretty religious country, with Catholicism being the dominant religion.

– Cover it with religious symbols (stickers, drawings).

If you’re going to mail something that doesn’t fit in a regular envelope (like toothpaste or something), send it in a padded envelope (no more than 2 lbs). If it all won’t fit in a padded envelope, send two envelopes. Sending a box is a no-no, as it will result in the receiver (me) going to the Managua airport and likely paying more to customs than the package is actually worth. When declaring the value in customs – make the value really low. Doesn’t matter the size, just low. For practical purposes, just put 5 dollars.

Jacque from Paris, France: What’s the best way to get in touch with you?

Email or Cell Phone. My email address is avirich@gmail.com and I check it every couple of days. My cell number is (505) 917.5597 and is always near me so call anytime. Right now I am two hours behind EST but once daylight savings time ends in the States, I will be only one hour behind. Holla!

Mother Teresa from heaven: I heard that everyone has malaria down there….is that true?

It is mostly true. So far everyone I have met has either malaria, dengue, or some other bad disease. Ok, just kidding. But yes, malaria and dengue, among other diseases are much more common here than the States but they still only affect a small percentage of the population and the worst cases are on the Atlantic Coast, aka the Mosquito Coast where most people don’t hang out. With proper precautions such as clothing, repellant, and anti-malaria pills, your chances of getting a serious disease are pretty slim. Still, you may get something as the standards of cleanliness are completely different here so bring a good book for some possibly extended toilet time.

Homer S. from Springfield: How is the food, chico?

Not too shabby so far. Lots of the same stuff as in Guatemala. Eggs, cheese, potatoes, rice, beans, corn. The most famous food item is called Gallo Pinto and is a basic mixture of red beans and rice. Pretty tasty. A lot of food is fried here and I do miss my vegetables but thankfully there are tons of fruits right now.

Santa Claus from the North Pole: I heard it is hot, hot, hot. Do they have a/c or what?

Generally no a/c except for big businesses, touristy places, and hotels. However it is available but it’s probably just way too expensive for most of the country and they have lived an eternity without it. Only the wealthier people have a/c. I do really believe that if a/c was more widespread in this country, a lot more work could be done as it does get really hot during the day. And when it is that hot, people just sit around in their houses and complain about the heat and don’t do too much. The heat definitely makes you lazy! However, I will say that the rainy season has officially started in Nicaragua and the rain keeps everything nice and cool so its not too bad.

Concerned Grandmother from Long Island: Any hot Jewish Nicaraguan chicks down there?

Everything is possible but it is extremely unlikely that I will meet a hot Jewish chick down here. There is a very small Jewish community consisting of about 15 families and hopefully I will get a chance to meet them and hang out in the future. Rest assured, bubee, that I will keep you updated.

Michael Scott from the Scranton branch: How are you surviving without me and “The Office?”

I definitely miss you Michael but I have to say that I miss Dwight a bit more. However, I am looking into ways to watch tv shows on the internet so hopefully I will see you soon. And it would be really nice if someone burned a dvd for me on missed episodes and sent them to me.

Naked Cowboy from NYC: What will you miss most during your service?

I am going to go with football, family and friends, knowing what the hell is going on in the world, internet, sushi, traditional American food, air conditioning, being independent, sleeping late, not having to think about everything when I speak, barbeque, holidays, Jewish holidays, Saturdays at the Swamp, and the list could go on. However, even though I will miss many things, I believe that the gains will more than make up for it.

Warren Buffet from NYC: How much do you get paid?

Ha. It is actually amusing how little I get paid right now but in comparison to other Nicaraguans, I am doing just fine. Technically speaking, I get almost two whole dollars a day to live off but that is not including food and shelter which is provided by our host families. Once I move out to my site, I will get paid more as I will be paying for my own food, utilities, shelter, etc. PC strongly recommends that we all live close to the standards of the average Nicaraguan and is thus helping us achieve this by keeping our pay low. But really it’s all good and we get paid enough to get by.

All my hoes in different area codes: Are you allowed to visit the States during your two years? Do you get to take vacation time? Basically, I miss you already and want to see you.

Calmate, paciencia. Yes, I am allowed to visit the States as I accrue two days of vacation per month of service. However, I will probably only be coming back once a year to visit my family in Jacksonville so make plans to come on down here. I promise to show you a good time J

2 responses to “Ask Avi- Peace Corps Nicaragua

  1. Aqua,
    I just love your writing and i love you. Alot of folks have asked how you are doing and after a short explanation, I direct them to this website. I tell them that you are happy and how proud Mom and I are of you. Go easy on your “hoes”.

    dad

  2. Your dad is so cute. But I disagree with him, you gotta give it to hoes. But that’s not the orginal reason behind my comment…

    I am a little confused, an NGO that is funded by the governement? Doesn’t that make it a GO??

Leave a comment